Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


The Sun in the Clouds of Raindrops

So, my photography interests do not solely lie with portraiture. I do try to deviate from the norm and capture nature and other objects in new and creative ways. Some times this works well, and other times? Not so much.

This image was taken on one of those days when it works out much better than expected and is proof as to why you should shoot and keep shooting all the things around  you. I took it from the passenger seat while sitting in a drive thru awaiting our lunch. We had been at the park and it started to rain. By the time we arrived at our destination, the rain had let up and the sun was shining down on the sun roof.

Up to this point I had been unsuccessful in shooting rain drops, and thought I’d pull out the camera while we waited. Originally I was going for the reflection of the restaurant banner through the drops in the sunroof, shooting wide open and practicing my focus and breathing to keep the camera steady. In-camera, they didn’t quite look the way I’d imagined, but I took a few more through the windshield as the droplets were sitting nice and even throughout it.

When I got the images downloaded to my computer, I realized I had captured much more than I realized in the windshield images. First the gradient of the windshield acted as a polarizer of sorts and resulted in a nice blue color in the image.  Second, shooting wide open blurred out the background, yet you can still make out the fact that it is sky back there. Third – and most surprising – was the reflection of the sky and clouds found within the raindrops, and even the sun can be seen peeking through the clouds.

I did little processing on this photo at all, which was what makes it that much more special for me personally.

Lessons learned from this:

  • There is beauty to be found in the most mundane things
  • Even when you’re just taking pictures for the heck of it, play with your settings (aperture, SS) for the heck of it as well. You never know what might pop out at you!
  • Trust your exposure meter. When it says it’s underexposed…it is.
  • Don’t depend on post work to make an okay picture better…it only degrades it, especially when underexposed.

View large version here.

