Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


[image deleted by Aimee]

While practicing with the bounce card, I took this photo of my husband and son in the kitchen. They were playing around and I just happened to capture this sweet moment between the two of them. Unfortunately, the image was a little underexposed and processing it made it appear a bit grainy.

Everyone has their opinion on post processing and whether or not processing an image is “faking it”. Generally, I try not to rely on processing to *fix* an image, but rather to enhance it. If the photograph is bad, then no amount of processing will fix it.

This image wasn’t bad, but I wasn’t getting the results I wanted in full color. My creative style, in general, is leaning towards a more under-saturated look anyway, and this image looked very nice with desaturated tones. Furthermore, image noise resulted from correcting the levels and curves of the image, so it gave me the idea of possibly adding a texture.

The end result was exactly what I had envisioned in my mind’s eye as my processing of this image developed. The original photo was never going to be a professional portrait, because it was an impromptu capture of a spontaneous moment. No time for lighting setup, hair fixes, background checks. It is what it is.

However, this image, to me, feels like a photograph – an artistic photograph; some might even call it art. I’m happy with photograph and knowing that the special moment I happened to capture can be preserved in a presentation that is pleasing to the eye and looks like more than just a snapshot.

