ImageIn March 2012, I happened upon THE COOLEST webinar site called creativeLIVE. Teaching the workshop that day was a woman by the name of Sue Bryce. She was telling the story – in her sweet Australian accent – of how she got started in the glamour photography business back in the 80’s when Glamour Shots was taking the world by storm, one mall at a time; and how, since that time, she has built a multimillion dollar business and become an award-winning photographer still shooting, almost exclusively, beauty shots of average, everyday women.

I was as close as I’ve ever been to star-struck, listening to this beautiful, humble woman talk about how it is her life’s ambition to let every woman of every size and every walk of life see herself as a beautiful, amazing person. I was amazed by her story-telling, the gratitude that she expressed, and the freedom with which she imparted her knowledge and expertise onto the audience.

Image

Since that time, I have followed her workshops at every opportunity, including investing in her month-long training course modeled around her business. From her, I have learned so much, not just about photography, but about life, relationships, and what it takes to succeed. She has helped me overcome my perceived fears (of failure, mostly), and to acknowledge, with gratitude, all of the things in my life with which I have been blessed.

ImageYou see, I graduated from college with a business degree in management information systems, and a minor in women’s studies. Weird combo, right? Since then, I have been trying to figure out how I take those two areas of expertise and create a business designed, at its heart, to be by, for and about women. Sue has shown me the light at the end of the tunnel I entered so many years ago, and this, my friends, is it.

ImageThe Glamour Revolution.

The Glamour Revolution is about women, all women, and their inherent beauty. It’s about believing that you are beautiful not matter what you look like on the outside or how you feel on the inside. It’s about seeing yourself in a new light. Seeing an image of yourself and being happy with what you see. It’s about empowering your spirit and recognizing that you are stronger than you may have thought. It’s about loving yourself and tearing down the walls of fear that hold you back. The Glamour Revolution is upon us, and I, for one, am so excited to be a part of it.

ImageAnd so, my work has begun. I have spent the past several months practicing, posing, re-branding, and re-packaging everything about my photography. It has been a slow process since this is my part-time passion, versus my full-time job, but it is coming together, little by little. The images in this post are not what I aspire to produce, they are only the beginning.

I could not be more excited about what the future holds for me and my clients as I create an experience they will remember forever. An experience they will crave over and over again; one they will talk about with their girlfriends, sisters, mothers, and colleagues, and makes them smile when they realize just how beautiful they truly are.

