Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


[image deleted by Aimee]

A few of my nieces and nephews were in town last weekend, and as usual, I took the opportunity to try and capture their personalities.  They are quite cooperative models, and love hamming for the camera, so it was a pleasure to take their picture. The only downside was I waited til the last day, and wish I’d had more time to experiment.

I made the mistake of using my new comforter as the background, mainly because we were short on time and space, and when you have six kids running around your house, it’s best to take them into another room one at a time to take their picture. In hindsight, a plain white sheet would’ve been much better; at least then I could easily select and replace it with something else.

All my nieces and nephews have such beautiful eyes; I love to capture them in a natural expression. Here, little Eli is holding onto his blow-up bat he won at the fair. It is fitting that this picture includes something memorable from the weekend.

For lighting, I used the window light available in the room, supplemented with bounced flash. I’m really loving the ability to bounce my flash, as it makes the lighting much more even, and eliminates those nasty hotspots on the forehead, nose and chin.

Lessons learned during this shoot:

  • As hard as I tried – and preferred – to shoot all the kids one at a time, they all wanted to see and be involved. By the time I got to the end of the group, all six were in my room, on the bed!
  • Take one extra minute and reconsider the after effects of using that choice of background. I mean, come on!! What was I thinking?!
  • If space is limited, move around.  This is, apparently, a tough one for me to remember. I have lots of shots from almost the exact same angle/position. My feet work, my arms stretch, the kids can change position. What’s with the same pose in nearly every shot?
  • Too many kids and too little space, make me hot and anxious. Not an ideal shooting situation. Next time, we’ll just set it up in the living room, where there is more room to breathe!
  • It’s hard to take a bad picture of such cute kids. 🙂

If you are reading this and like what you see, or if you hate it, please…feel free to let me know. I’d love to hear from you.